Workshop 42: Tana French

WritingWorkshop 42: Tana French

Workshop 42: Tana French

Tana French is the Edgar Award-winning author of the Dublin Murder Squad series. The newest, called The Trespasser, is the sixth in the best-selling, habit-forming series. “It’s taken for granted that anybody who’s read one [Tana French novel] will very shortly have read them all,” wrote Laura Miller in the New Yorker.

French wrote her debut novel, In The Woods, in the long stretches between parts as a stage actress in Dublin. That theatrical training – understanding people from the inside out – may well be the edge that sets her books apart from other mysteries and police procedurals. The search for the killer becomes entangled with a search for the self, or as Miller put it, “in most crime fiction, the central mystery is who is the murderer? In French’s novels, it’s who is the detective?”

Music by Podington Bear
Ad music by Uncanny Valleys

Learn more about your ad choices. Visit

Post a comment:


Type at least 1 character to search